Motivation Monday :: Hobie Surf : Gary Larson Shapes a Quad Fish

“If I see a board that I shaped and it is sunburnt yellow, dinged up and ridden into the ground… it makes me happy. I don’t shape things to sit, they are supposed to be in the water, it is why shapers do what they do.” Gary Larson.

 

Gary Larson. Shaper & Scholar.

Gary Larson. Shaper & Scholar.

 

How do you start a board for a yet unnamed rider? “I start by looking at the destination… if it is an Uncle Buck headed for Dana Point, I start thinking it is going to be surfed at SanO. Then I think of the wave and how the average surfer in the water would ride it… when I started surfing, I just wanted to surf and get waves… when I make a stock board, I don’t think of surfers like Bucky Barry or Tyler Warren… I think about the average guy or girl in the water and make it for them.” When you think back to that first off the rack board that you loved, it was in fact designed just for you. The stock shapers already saw you riding the wave, they already knew what break you were going to surf at… they knew it was for you before you ever walked into the shop.

Film by Troy Brajkovich. Enjoy!!! To learn more about Gary Larson, See his profile on our team page HERE.

 

-Tracey Engelking

Leave a Reply

