Hobie Surf: How to Surf a Surf Mat

Every once in a while a “new/old” fun thing to play on in the water comes into the shop, and doesn’t get as much attention as it deserves… enter the Surf Mat from Krypt Surf. I have walked past it in the shop, I have watched people excitedly purchase them, I have listened to the staff that tried it go, literally, on and on and on about how much fun they are… but, somehow I never really got it until I watched the video below explaining all things Mat. I am now DYING to get one and glide across the tops of the waves like a pelican!!!

 

Oh, what a fun time we will have!!

Developed in 1933, the surf mat has been one of the more undercover alternative surf crafts providing surfers with an exhilarating, fast ride for years, turning seemingly bad waves into a more than worthwhile session. What most people don’t realize is that while they may not be designed for high-flying aerial antics like a body board, they are however, high performance wave riding vehicles, allowing for super fast speed runs along the perfect trim spot that each ridden wave offers.

Shaper/surfer Daniel Thomson shares some tips on how to optimize your ride. Changing the internal pressure of the mat by squeezing and gripping the fabric, the rider can alter the thickness, buoyancy and rocker, therefore changing speed and control of the mat.

The air pressure is the key. A surf mat requires less air in smaller, flatter waves and a bit more air in larger more powerful waves. However, experienced mat riders prefer to ride a softer inflation as doing this allows the mat to run faster over the water. A mat rider can experience many different levels of riding performance by simply adjusting the mats air pressure between rides.

I want to go to here!!!

 

Again… there goes my  paycheck from Hobie to another baller toy we carry!!! Seriously, they have to just start paying me in gift cards!!!

 

-Tracey Engelking

 

One thought on “Hobie Surf: How to Surf a Surf Mat

  1. Tracey, This is how to ride a raft, mid nineteen-fifties style. My brother and I rented these every time my dad took us to the Hotel Laguna. Little did I know at the time, Hobie was whittling away on balsa wood surfboards in his dad’s garage about five blocks south on Oak Street. The new Hobie Surfboards shop was under construction on PCH a few miles away in Dana Point. My friends and I never considered standing up on these raft things until eighth grade, having never seen a surfboard before or anyone riding one for that matter. Chuck

Leave a Reply

