Hobie Shop: Monday Morning Obsession: Hurley White Leggings/Skinny Jeans

LoVE LoVE LoVE White Skinny Jeans!!!!

Monday… Glorious Monday! The swell looks like it might fill in as the week goes on… or so  the surf report claims (one of these days I’m going to go on a rant on this blog about how many times the surf report is full of 2-4′ lies!! ;) ) and summer is starting to settle into my veins! Around this time every year, I want to layer on bright colored tops and kick around in white bottoms under our scorching desert sun… so I have been. It doesn’t even bother me that I have been totally abusing my Hurley 81 Leggings/Skinny Jeans in Stark White ($59 in shops and online) by wearing them at least 3 times a week (yup, I just admitted to that!!) EVERYWHERE. A book could be written on how good these fit.. no saggy butt, and especially no “coin slot” action either. **shudder** So, since my love for these amazing wardrobe staples runs deep, I asked Katie, the assistant manager  at the Dana Point Hobie shop, to style three looks around my little white obsession.

Katie from Dana Point Hobie with the current LoVE of my life!

**Before we get started, when you try these on, bring your usual size in and the size down. I’m usually a 5 and I wear a 3 in these.**

First Look: Window Shopping!

Two things I live for in the summer besides surfing and goofing off at the beach, are bright colors and window shopping! Katie toned down the bright turquoise of this lace tank by putting a mustard basic layer tank underneath. (Runway Lace tank $40, Basic Layer tank $12 in shops) Roll the leggings to 2″ above the ankle bone to show off the Roxy Antigua wood and bead sandals (in shops and online $39). Obviously no window shopping day is complete with out a big beach bag to fit all your buys like the Bucket Bag by Billabong (in shops $48) and a good pair of sunnies like the Lindsay’s by Kreed ($28 in shops).  I wore this exact same look, except with a neon pink tank under the lace to make it wild bright, and my beat up Rainbow sandals because they are super broken in for a day of shopping.

Second Look: Laid Back Office

This look is for when you can’t let go of the summer fun, but you have to go get your office time on. Roll your Hurley’s up to hit right at the back of your shoe, try our Reef Ballet Strip ($56 in shops) for a big pop of color against the stark white. On top, keep with a bright color through summer, bright coral gives your skin glow even if you have been spending too much time under the fluorescent tubes instead of inside the watery tubes at the beach (Jolie knit sweater $32 in shops). Throw on a bubble necklace ($20 in shops), some oversized sunglasses that have a retro feel without looking like they came out of a prop shop (Mya’s by Hobie Polarized in shops and online $70), and an on trend cross body bag (Roxy Highway bag, $48 in shops) with fringe, and you will bring the sun inside to even the dimmest of office settings.

Third Look: Fall/Winter

This whole “No white after Labor Day” style rule has always irked me. Personally, I love the look of white in the winter, and I think you should wear what you love no matter what the fashion rule makers say! So, that said, here is the proper way to wear your white in the fall/winter.

Katie knocked it out on this look. I love when someone styles something and you want… no… you NEED the whole outfit!! She took the Nantucket boatneck striped sweater from Quiksilver ($49.50 in shops and online) and put the Bar Harbor blazer by Quiksilver over it ($84.50 in shops and online)  and rolled the cuff to show the Burberry-esq plaid lining of the coat. For fall, grab your Hemp Vans ($52 in shops and online) and for winter, try the Olukai Holo Lio knee high boots ($270 in shops and online) in gray. And, just because it is overcast out, don’t forget to protect your eyes, the Emma’s by Hobie Polarized (in shops and online $70) have a nice cat eye feel!

I LoVED sharing this with you all, and I think we will do one or two of these a month… any thoughts on what “style staple” you would like to see worn three ways??? Leave a comment and let me know!! Happy Monday and happy shopping for white leggings!!

***Special Thanks to Ellesse from Hobie Dana Point for being our model!!

Thank you Ellesse!!!!

-Tracey Engelking

Leave a Reply

