Hobie Surf: Beauty Treatment for Salt Water Dry Lips!

I am a girl who loves a good overshare. If you are an avid follower of this blog, you have already learned about my cellulite, my not so beach wavey hair, my true feelings about dawn patrol, and how much I love my pops. And, since I kind of get free reign on what I write about for The Hobie Surf Shop blog… why don’t I tell you about my flaky, cracked, dried out lips..?? K??

Before my treatment… dry, cracked, and flaky… also, this photo is unretouched, I have no make up on, and it is 6:30 am.. only for you readers would I do this! 100% authentic before shot! (note: YIKES!!!)

Much as I love the ocean’s salt watery goodness, it reeks havoc on my skin and hair. Remember that commercial from a while back where the lady scratches the word “dry” onto her skin with her finger nail? My skin can sub in for a notepad most days. My lips take the worst beating. Much as my hottie babe husband, The Chad, loves me; even he recoils from my sand paper soft pucker some days. So, if you are in any way as flaky, cracked and scratchy as I am in the lip department; follow along as I take you through my homemade lip scrub and rebeautification treatment to make you a kissable sensation.

All you need to rival Angelina in the smacker department!

Everything I use should be in your kitchen. If not, make friends with your neighbor who’s kitchen always smells so goooood. They are sure to have it. Here is what you need:

  • coconut oil or olive oil
  • sugar, brown or white
  • honey
  • bowl and spoon
  • and if you have it Emu oil (oohhh so good for dryness!)

In your bowl, mix about half of your spoon of choice of sugar (I used white), half a spoonful of honey, half a spoonful of coconut or olive oil (I use coconut oil) and, if you have it, a quarter spoonful of emu oil. Stir it all together.

So easy!!!!

Slather it on your lips, and continue to rub it in with your finger about every 30 seconds for five minutes. It should scrub away all traces of flaky-ness. **Important note: try not to eat it all off your lips before the five minutes are up.. SO tasty!!**

Merle, extremely unimpressed with what I have going on… (note: Oh boy, 6:30am is not a good time for close ups with no make up!! YIKES!!)

When the five minutes are up, you can use all your left over treatment on the rest of your face, it is a great exfoliant! Just scrub it on gently. Use a soft washcloth and warm water to rinse it away. Pat the water off and follow up on your lips with a few drops of emu oil or the coconut/olive oil. I massage it in for about twenty seconds. Then finish off the rest of your face with your moisturizer of choice, I’m a straight coconut oil girl. There you have it, kissable lips from your kitchen cabinet! XoXoXo

After… smoochable!!!!

-Tracey Engelking

P.S. To all my male readers without dry lips, and who already have naturally beach wavey hair… I promise, on Tuesday we will talk about surfing again! XO

5 thoughts on “Hobie Surf: Beauty Treatment for Salt Water Dry Lips!

  1. We are passing along the blog love and have nominated you for the One Lovely Blog Award :)
    Here are the rules of acceptance:
    1.Thank the person/people who nominated you and link back to them in your post.
    2.Share seven possibly unknown things about yourself.
    3.Nominate 15 or so bloggers you admire.
    4.Contact the chosen bloggers to let them know you have nominated them and link back to them.

    -Chelsea & Cortnie

  2. Hey it’s true(about the cracked lips)! Any avid beach goer would agree:) Thanks for your kitchen cabinet tips, and ‘yes’ this post will be between us ;) However I am sure he would love any tips(wavey hair and all) that revolve around the surf world!!! Cort

Leave a Reply

