Hobie Shop: How to: Beach Wavy Hair

Finally!!!!!

Our friends at Blgd 25, the blog from Free People, teach us all how to get beachy summer hair if we can’t get to the beach! I reposted the original story, written by Julia, below (which I normally don’t do, because I dislike costing a fellow hard working blogger page views, so make sure you check out her work HERE, so she can keep writting and keep food on the table!) and tried it myself…. and….. drum roll…. it works AMAZING!!!! I’ve tried a few other ways in the past; like taking water from the beach home in a little spray bottle and using it, which left my hair reallllly dry and smelly, so don’t do it. I can’t wait to try it after a long, hot, perfect beach day spent inside working. Hopefully, it will make me feel like I spent the day in the surf and sun instead of under the unglamorous fluorescent lights of the office. Enjoy!! And thank you again Free People for helping us get our waves on!!

Post image for Sea Salt Spray for Hair
I always think my hair looks best after a day at the beach, when the sea salt and sun combine to create loose, carefree waves that just don’t happen anywhere else.  Sure, you can buy products to re-create the look, but you can also learn how to make sea salt spray to get beachy, wavy hair any time, any place. I did a little research online and tested out a few combinations before settling on the homemade sea salt spray below – it works like a charm and it also smells just like the beach!
ingredients2 Sea Salt Spray for Hair

What you need: an empty spray bottle, sea salt, coconut oil, a tiny bit of gel, measuring cup and teaspoon.

ingredients Sea Salt Spray for Hair

I used Himalayan Sea Salt, which is finely ground and contains a high amount of natural minerals,Nutiva Coconut Oil, and a dab of standard hair gel. (Ed note: I used the brand of sea salt and coconut oil that I had in my house, so any brand should do.)

waterbottle Sea Salt Spray for Hair

Fill the spray bottle with 1 cup (8 oz.) of water – use lukewarm water to help dissolve the salt and coconut oil.

salt Sea Salt Spray for Hair

Add one teaspoon of sea salt to the water.

coconut2 Sea Salt Spray for Hair

Add about a half a teaspoon of coconut oil. When researching, I saw many types of homemade sea salt spray using different types of oil, the purpose of which is to help keep your hair from drying out from the sea salt. I chose coconut oil because of all the nutrients it contains – and also because it smells amazing!

Add a dab of hair gel (I used the amount pictured in photo above) – this is just for hold, so the waves stay in your hair.

saltspray Sea Salt Spray for Hair

Put the top on the spray bottle and shake thoroughly.

Spray it on damp or dry hair and scrunch the hair up towards your head to create waves.

Here’s my hair before and after!

beforeandafter Sea Salt Spray for Hair

(Ed note: Seriously, how easy is that!!! I loved how it worked! So simple!!)

-Tracey Engelking

Leave a Reply

